|
Post by NeX on Dec 5, 2015 23:45:33 GMT -8
I have just seen that FTDI have released a new version of the EVE processor that supports 800X600 resolution and 1Meg of ram,
any chance of a VGA version of the gameduino 2? it would make me so happy!
|
|
yusuf
New Member
Posts: 3
|
Post by yusuf on Dec 7, 2015 11:52:42 GMT -8
ft810 support would be nice
|
|
|
Post by jamesbowman on Dec 7, 2015 14:35:32 GMT -8
|
|
|
Post by NeX on Dec 8, 2015 1:07:33 GMT -8
wow so does that mean that connecting FTDI's demo board for the FTDI810 to an arduino should just work out of the box?
|
|
|
Post by jamesbowman on Dec 8, 2015 7:54:08 GMT -8
Yes, exactly. Btw, it currently assumes that an FT810 is connected to one of those 800x480 5-inch panels. So the GD initialization code looks like: if (FT800) -> set up for 480x272 panel if (FT810) -> set up for 800x480 panel
|
|
|
Post by NeX on Dec 8, 2015 9:27:03 GMT -8
Thanks James, have you tested it on one of these boards? i am planning to get one, i can report back if you haven't tested it already
|
|
diesel
Junior Member

Posts: 22
|
Post by diesel on Dec 11, 2015 12:21:44 GMT -8
I just received 2 ft810Q modules from Mouser. I have 4.3 480x272 screen, a 5.0 800x480, and an 800x480 in 7.0". I have tried them all with my limited abilities. The newest GD2, which is suppose to auto select the proper ft8xx, does not seem to do so. When I use the 5.0 800x480 screen, it breaks the output into two displays one on top of the other, on the left side of the screen, each with about 1/4th the total resolution. The 7.0 does nothing, it most likely needs to be configured properly. www.adafruit.com/images/product-files/2406/c3163.pdf this is the datasheet for it, its the only screen that I could find with the same 40 pin configuration as the FT810 datasheet. I did put a pot in place of the R7 backlight resistor, on the FT810Q board When I connect the Gameduino2 4.3 screen to the FT810Q, it works just like the complete Gameduino 2 does. Looks identical, and loads instantly by changing the swizzle to 0. The chip on the new module does in fact read ft810Q Any ideas?? I love the GD2, but I need a much larger screen.
|
|
|
Post by NeX on Dec 11, 2015 13:18:46 GMT -8
go over to the library section of the forum and take a look at a question i asked about changing the resolution, see if you can use the datasheet for the screen and get the FTDI chip setup for that screen
|
|
diesel
Junior Member

Posts: 22
|
Post by diesel on Dec 11, 2015 13:26:34 GMT -8
I am not that savvy, I tried it but to no avail.
|
|
diesel
Junior Member

Posts: 22
|
Post by diesel on Dec 11, 2015 14:11:26 GMT -8
I got it to somewhat work
GD.wr32(REG_HCYCLE, 900);//548 GD.wr32(REG_HOFFSET, 43); GD.wr32(REG_HSIZE, 800); GD.wr32(REG_HSYNC0, 0); GD.wr32(REG_HSYNC1, 41); GD.wr32(REG_VCYCLE, 500); GD.wr32(REG_VOFFSET, 12); GD.wr32(REG_VSIZE, 480); GD.wr32(REG_VSYNC0, 0); GD.wr32(REG_VSYNC1, 10); GD.wr32(REG_DITHER, 1); GD.wr32(REG_PCLK_POL, 1);//1 GD.wr32(REG_PCLK, 3);//5 GD.wr(REG_ROTATE, 0); GD.wr(REG_SWIZZLE, 0);//3 for GD2
These are just guesses, but at any rate it does display the example!
|
|
|
Post by NeX on Dec 13, 2015 3:43:17 GMT -8
does it work flawlessly or is it a bit glitchy still?
|
|
diesel
Junior Member

Posts: 22
|
Post by diesel on Dec 13, 2015 7:15:19 GMT -8
So far the display works as good as any I have used before, the clarity quality isn't the greatest, but that is in the display not the code.
I have adjusted all the display parameters in code, some of them have little to no effect, some have a great effect. I ended up with different values than my above post.
Other than viewing angle of the display, I am very pleased with how it all works together.
None of this would have been possible or even attempted without the Gameduino2 code, I appreciate James contribution very much.
It also seems the only difference that is apparent between an FT800 board and the FT810, is the actual chip itself. I have both and examined them. If this is the case, it should be easy for current production models just to implement a chip change, and swap out the display, hint... hint...
|
|
BrewBot
Junior Member

busy
Posts: 21
|
Post by BrewBot on Jan 9, 2016 22:16:39 GMT -8
If Gameduino 3 was in the works with a 7" screen @ 800x480 pixels display, i'd for sure buy one 
|
|
warren
Junior Member

Posts: 11
|
Post by warren on Jan 17, 2016 13:54:25 GMT -8
I got the Gameduino2 to use in a integrated Arduino-based power/control/display. As I was assembling the components (Nano, Arduino-shaped header sockets, LiPo charger/booster from SparkFun, power and reset switches, etc.) I thought how nice it would be to have a single board solution for all of this, AND, turn the headers around so you could add shields!
So, essentially it becomes an Arduino with a built-in GPU-powered display, LiPo battery charge/boost management, software power control, maybe even a proper audio amp. And, it would be interesting to design this with a 3D-printed enclosure in mind, that could be downloaded.
Is this worth considering? I've never done a Kickstarter, and I'm a amateur at electronics, so I'm open to advice.
-Warren
|
|
|
Post by Florian Germé on Nov 17, 2016 1:31:57 GMT -8
|
|